29 E. Madison Street
Year Built: 1904
Architect: D. H. Burnham & Co. (Frederick P. Dinkelberg, design associate)
Date Designated a Chicago Landmark:
August 30, 2000
The building was constructed in 1904 by the architectural firm of Burnham and Root under the commission of Otto Young, a real estate investor and wholesale jeweler. It received its name from the son in law of Otto Young, Lawrence Heyworth, who also supervised construction of the building.
Like many other buildings along Wabash Avenue, the Heyworth historically housed watchmakers, jewelers, and associated businesses. This structure was one of the final buildings designed by Frederick P. Dinkelberg at the firm before administration was turned over to Ernest Robert Graham.
The Heyworth stands 19 stories tall with a gross square footage of 256,000 square feet (23,800 m2). Its style strays from the typical designs of Burnham and Root, appearing more rigid and geometrical than their other works done in a classical style. It combined the Chicago School's structurally expressive character with decorative appearance common in traditional masonry architecture. The tapestry-like ornament of the building pairs well with the ornamentation designed by Louis Sullivan on the adjacent Carson Pirie Scott building. The Heyworth is also noted for its intact finely crafted decorative cornice, which is an uncommon feature among the other commercial buildings of Chicago. The building was designated a Chicago Landmark on August 30, 2000.
It was designed by Frederick P. Dinkelberg, an important architect working for one of the largest and most influential architectural firms in the United States in the early 1900s. Other buildings by Dinkelberg include the Railway Exchange Building in Chicago and New York's Flatiron Building. In addition, one of Chicago's finest historic storefronts, designed in 1917 for O'Connor & Goldberg Shoes, remains at 23 E. Madison St.